Pte PALMER, J, captain of the victorious 3JR (NR) cricket team
hoisting the champion's trophy.

The 2012 Inter-Unit cricket competition culminated on Friday 24 February 2012 in a lush presentation ceremony at the cricket pavilion in Up Park Camp. The ceremony honoured the 2012 champions and recognized several past players and support staff from years gone by.

The competition which started on Wednesday 15 February saw only seven Units participating. After the official drawing for zone placements, two zones were created. Zone 1 had the defending champions, 1 Engineer Regiment (JDF) along with the JDF Air Wing, 3rd Battalion the Jamaica Regiment (3JR NR) and the Support and Services Battalion (SSB). Zone 2 was comprised of the fierce infantry rivals 1st Battalion, the Jamaica Regiment (1JR) and 2nd Battalion, the Jamaica Regiment (2JR), complimented by the seafarers of JDF Coast Guard (JDF CG), who were not to be taken lightly.

The teams battled fiercely during the zone matches. Each Unit knew fully well that the Twenty 20 format of the game would be decided on good tactics and strategy. Selection and maintenance of the aim, offensive action concentration of force, cooperation, flexibility and of course maintenance of morale were some of the principles that each team had to display in order to win.

Maj M EDWARDS is congratulated as he prepares to accept the prize from
Lt Col M NEATH on behalf of the successful Officer's team.


In the end, 3JR (NR), SSB, JDF CG and 1JR advanced to the semi-finals. This meant that for the year 2012, a new champion would be crowned as 1 Engr Regt (JDF) did not qualify for the knock out portion of the competition. In the first semi-final, SSB made quick work of the JDF CG and booked their place in the final with a commanding victory. The second semi-final between 3JR (NR) and 1JR could have been more competitive, however the top order batsmen for 1JR failed to make any meaningful contribution and inĀ  the end could not overhaul the 3JR (NR) total.

With no 3rd place playoff scheduled, a mouth watering final was anticipated between the Support Battalion and the Reservists. Before patrons watched the finals, they witnessed a commanding display by the Officers who demolished the Warrant Officers and Senior Ranks team in a 12 over match. This was sweet revenge for the Officers who were beaten by the Senior Ranks in 2011. Led by Capt Brian Lundy, the Officers, with superb bowling from Maj Warrenton Dixon; exquisite and dominating batting from Maj Orville Froome, outplayed their opponents and came out victorious. This set the stage for the highly anticipated final.

Finals and Presentation Ceremony

In the Finals, 3JR(NR) were the first to bat amassing 172/8 off their allotted 20 overs. SSB was in with a good chance as LCpl Mark Gray was batting pretty well throughout the competition. He had managed to average over 90 runs in each of his last two matches but his fine batting would not continue to the final. His teammates also failed to step up to the challenge, and eventually SSB were bundled out for 94 runs. The mouth watering final that the patrons had hoped for did not live up to reality. In the end it was a comfortable win for the Reservists who proved they were ‘always ready’ for any challenge.

Cpl Damian Gray, captain of the JDF cricket team collected the Jamaica Cricket Association, Captains Bakery limited overs trophy for being champions in that competition. Spr Jermain Harrison collected the award for the JDF player with most runs as well as best emerging young player. Cpl Damian Gray returned to collect the award for most wickets.

LCpl GRAY, M of SSB collecting the Most Runs trophy from Col D EDWARDS.

In the presentation ceremony that followed, several awards were issued to a number of persons. Under the distinguished patronage of Col GS, Chairman of the JDF Sports Board, several special awards were issued to the following persons for their outstanding dedication to the development and success of JDF cricket.

Maj Paul Brown 15 yrs
Steve Wallace 23 yrs
Cpl Howard Copeland 22 yrs
LCpl Anthony Folkes 18 yrs
LCpl Wayne Cuff    19 yrs
Pte Layton Brown 32 yrs
Ms Karlene Warren 22 yrs
Mr Herman Williams 10 yrs
Mr Errol Henry 6yrs

Col D EDWARDS presenting the Most Wickets trophy to Pte BROWN, L of 3JR (NR).

Pte PALMER also lifted the Inter Unit Cricket Competition Champions trophy as captain of the successful 3JR (NR) cricket team.

Pte PALMER, J of 3JR (NR) collecting the Best All-rounder trophy.

Overall it was another successful season of cricket. We are now looking towards 2013 for bigger and even better things but for this year, 3JR (NR) are 2012 Inter-Unit Cricket Champions!

Members of SSB collecting their runner-up medals.